Schleicher County Judge Charlie Bradley  --  | FILE PHOTO
Schleicher County Judge Charlie Bradley -- | FILE PHOTO

Schleicher County Judge Charlie Bradley was returned to office by Schleicher County voters who overwhelmingly supported his reelection bid over independent challenger Rey Lucio. Bradley received 811 compared to 104 for Lucio.

Lucio’s independent candidacy was launched after the March 6th political primaries. His campaign, waged primarily on the Internet featured attacks on Bradley, Schleicher County Attorney Clint Griffin, Sheriff David Doran and Texas Ranger Nick Hanna, all of whom were involved in his 2016 arrest and his 2017 trial and conviction on a harrassment charge.

Local jurors convicted Lucio of harassing his former girlfriend and sentenced him to 90 days in jail, most of which he served in the Taylor County Jail in Abilene.

In other races, local voters tended went overwhelmingly for Republican U.S. Representative Will Hurd who reeived 730 votes compared to 194 for Democratic challenger Gina Ortiz Jones.

Jones ran a strong race district-wide, ultimately losing to Hurd by a mere 689 votes.

The results were much the same in the Governor’s race. Republican Governor Greg Abbott received 758 local votes compared to 187 for his Democratic challenger Lupe Valdez. The statewide results were similar as Abbott was easily reelected.

Similarly, Ted Cruz, a Republican, was reelected over his Democratic challenger Beto O’Rourke. Here in Schleicher County, Cruz received 735 votes compared to 209 for O’Rourke.

Some 968, or 54 percent of the county’s 1,790 registered voters cast ballots in the election.

Nationwide, the Democratic party took control of the U.S. House of Representatives by a narrow margin. While Republicans expanded their control in the U.S. Senate by unseating incumbent Democratic Senators in Indiana, North Dakota and Florida.

It may be a day or two before the entire congressional election is decided as close races will undoubtedly lead to recounts in several races.

In all, 653 Schleicher County voters cast their ballots during the Early Voting period with only 315 voting on Tuesday.

Complete results of the Schleicher County election appear below.

Straight Party
Republican Party317
Democratic Party 106
Libertarian Party4

u.S. Senator
Ted Cruz REP735
Beto O’Rourke DEM209
Neal M. Dikeman LIB8

U. S. Representative District 23
Will Hurd REP730
Gina Ortiz Jones DEM194
Ruben Corvalan LIB24

Greg Abbott REP758
Lupe Valdez DEM187
Mark Jay Tippetts LIB12

lieutenant governor
Dan Patrick REP667
Mike Collier DEM252
Kerry Douglas McKennon LIB12
attorney general
Ken Paxton REP691
Justin Nelson DEM222
Michael Ray Harris LIB20

Comptroller of public accounts
Glenn Hegar REP700
Joi Chevalier DEM189
Ben Sanders LIB28

Commissioner of the general land office
George P. Bush REP699
Miguel Suazo DEM185
Matt Pina LIB42

COmmissioner of agriculture
Sid Miller REP695
Kim Olson DEM208
Richard Carpenter LIB9
Railroad commissioner
Christi Craddick REP709
Roman McAllen DEM192
Mike Wright LIB23

JUstice, Supreme Court, Pl 2
Jimmy Blacklock REP709
Steve Kirkland DEM214

Justice, Supreme Court, Pl 4
John Devine REP701
R.K. Sandill DEM205

Justice, supreme court, pl 6
Jeff Brown REP710
Kathy Cheng DEM198

presiding judge , court of criminal appeals
Sharon Keller REP698
Maria T. (Terri) Jackson DEM202
William Bryan Strange III LIB20

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Pl 7
Barbara Parker Hervey REP719
Ramona Franklin DEM201

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Pl 8698
Michelle Slaughter REP764
Mark Ash LIB96

State Representative, Dist 53
Andrew Murr REP754
Stephanie Lochte Ertel DEM178

Justice, 3rd Court of appeals District, pl 2
Cindy Olson Bourland REP704
Edward Smith DEM209

Justice, 3rd Court of appeals District, pl 3
Scott Field REP708
Chari Kelly DEM205
Justice, 3rd Court of appeals District, pl 5
David Puryear REP704
Thomas J. Baker DEM209

Justice, 3rd Court of appeals District, pl 6
Michael “Mike” Toth REP708
Gisela D. Tirana DEM207
Write-in Vote 1

County Judge
Charles “Charlie” Bradley REP811
Rey Lucio IND104

District and County Clerk Mary Ann Gonzalez DEM666

County Treasurer
Jennifer Henderson REP850

County Commissioner, Precint No. 2
Steve D. Nelson REP22

County Commissioner, Precint No. 4
Chris E. Meador REP295

Justice of the Peace
Phil Edmiston REP844