The Eldorado High School Mighty Eagle Band brought home the coveted Sweepstakes trophy from the UIL Region 6 Concert & Sight-Reading Evaluation which was held Wednesday, March 31st at Abilene Cooper High School.

To claim the Sweepstakes Award, the band had to earn a Division 1 Superior Rating in the marching band competition, something they accomplished on November 7, 2020 at the Region 6 Marching Contest at Abilene Wylie High School.

The band was then required to earn a Division 1 Superior Rating in the Concert and Sight Reading Contests in order to seal the deal on the Sweepstakes Award.

The Eagle Band made good on the trifecta when it performed three selections for the judges at Abilene High School including Winchester March by John Edmondson, Maesong by William Owens, and Fortis by Gary Gazlay.

The judges for last week’s evaluation were Carroll Rhodes, Barry Hurt, and former EHS band director Mike Marsh. The judges agreed and awarded the band straight Division 1 ratings in Concert and Sight Reading.

The Mighty Eagle Band was under the direction of Justina Saunders. She was assisted by Ruben Tambunga.

Ms. Saunders expressed her gratitude to the Mighty Eagle Band members for their perseverance and consistency during the very challenging year in which COVID-19 prompted many changes in plans and schedules. She also thanked Mr. Tambunga for his assistance during the spring semester.
Mighty Eagle Band Members, and the instruments they play appear below.

FLUTES: Jacque Cortez, Milette Hernandez, Heidi Estrada, Amanda Cortez, Ayla Doran, Brooklyn Truelove

CLARINETS: Ashlee Flynn, Jocelyn Massey, Leonela Lejia, Abigail Lopez, Jessica Sanchez, Lucas Sullivan, Maci Armstrong, Lupe Esparza, Allison Meador

BASS CLARINETS: Yasmin Ramirez

ALTO SAXOPHONES: Nautika Pina, Mario Hernandez, Ram Leija, Jonah Penksyzk, Jacky Contreras


FRENCH HORN: Skylen Escarcega

TRUMPETS: Luis Castro, Braedon McCants, Isaiah Bara, Elexis Martin, Zaid Hernandez, Alex Sanchez, Alejandro Salazar, Jaysen Santellano, Ryder Greenwood, Reynaldo Pasillas

TROMBONES: Aydin Adame, Marci Romo, Andrew Thornton, Jaxon Yeager

BARITONES: Juan Nava, Liza Morales, Jordan Blackmon, Isaac Vasquez, Blake Hearn

TUBA: Jaydyn Doran, Roman Guadarrama

PERCUSSION: Jozee Lloyd, Jonathan McGee, Minelly Montes, Jasiel Galindo, Andrew McGee, Addison Triplett