Thirteen new members were inducted into the National Honor Society on Monday, November 18th, 2019, in the Eldorado High School auditorium.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Angela Alegria while Benjamin McGee offered the opening prayer.

Eldorado High School Principal Perry Graves welcomed those in attendance to the ceremony. National Honor Society advisor Hilary Choate then introduced the new officers for the 2019-2020 school year. They are: President Benjamin McGee, Vice President Lyndi Sanchez, Secretary Kathryn Shipman and Treasurer Emmie Mynatt.

The new officers were on hand to perform the Candle Ceremony which represents Scholarship, Service, Leadership and Character.

EHS Principal Perry Graves performed the certification of the new members and presented each with a certificate of membership.

New inductees are Naomi Borrego, Natalie Fuentes, Mario Hernandez, Jadyn Martinez, Jocelyn Massey, Johnathan McGee, Codee Meador, Cooper Meador, Logan Moore, Yatzari Narvaez, Victoria Pina, Kelsey Stanford and Levi Sullivan.

Current members are Angelia Alegria, Benjamin McGee, Emmie Mynatt, Lyndi Sanchez, Kathryn Shipman.

Nationwide, more than a million students are estimated to participate in the National Honor Society. NHS and NJHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and many U.S. territories. Chapters can also be found in Canada and certain areas in Asia. Pakistan has three schools maintaining an active chapter. Additionally, NHS chapters have been established in American schools around the globe.

The NHS motto is “noblesse oblige,” a French phrase interpreted in English as “nobility obligates.” The phrase has two practical meanings including “whoever claims to be noble must conduct himself nobly,” and “one must act in a fashion that conforms with one’s position, and with the reputation that one has earned.”