The Eldorado Eagles placed 20 players on the District 8-2A Division II All-District football team. They claimed a total of 23 positions and,the Eagles coaching staff was named as the district’s Staff of the Year. The All-District team was announced this week after all four district teams were eliminated from the 2A state playoffs.

All-District selections are made by the coaches in District 8-2A who nominate players, but may not vote for players on their own team. The selections were made during a district meeting following the final game of the regular season, but before the playoffs began.

Eagles players received five of the district’s six superlative honors including three of the district’s Most Valuable Player awards. Eric Reyes, a junior running back, was named the Offensive Co-MVP while senior defensive end Jack Griffin was named Defensive MVP. Emiliano “Big E” Hernandez, a junior, is the district’s Lineman MVP for 2018.

Christoval’s sophomore quarterback Brayden Wilcox was selected as the MVP of District 8-2A while Mason Bryan of Miles was Offensive Co-MVP with Reyes.

“Eric has invested himself into our program fully, and it is continuing to show,” Eagles Head Coach Michael Johnson said of Offensive Co-MVP Eric Reyes who contributed 1,069 all purpose yards and 13 touchdowns on the year.

Defensive MVP Jack Griffin counted for 100 solo tackles and 31 assists on the year. He tallied 11 quarterback sacks, forced five fumbles and recovered three.

“Jack has had two phenomenal seasons now,” Coach Johnson said of his defensive standout. “He is very deserving of the Defensive MVP honor.”

Emiliano “Big E” Hernandez, a junior, was a stalwart on the Eagles’ offensive and defensive lines during the 2018 season. Defensively he made 11 solo tackles and 21 assists while anchoring a line that made it difficult on opposing offenses to run the ball. He tallied a quarterback sack, blocked a punt, forced two fumbles and recovered two others.

“Big E’s performance this season was great,” Coach Johnson said of his big man. “He plays down in the trenches, where a lot of the game goes unnoticed unless things go bad. He completely dominated throughout the district season.”

Freshman quarterback Korbin Covarrubiaz was named Offensive Newcomer of the Year. He came on in relief of his brother Kevan Covarrubiaz who suffered a knee injury during the third game of the season, a victory in Brackettville, and led the Eagles to a 4-1 district record and a three-way share of the district title. He completed 98 of 170 pass attempts for 1,366 yards and 14 touchdowns. He also ran the ball 51 times for 129 yards and six TDs.

“I have not met many freshmen who would have responded the way Korbin did this season,” Coach Johnson said of his young signal caller. “That kid has such a great heart. There’s a lot pressure that comes with playing the quarterback position in football and he did an outstanding job of stepping up when his number was called and leading our offense.”

Freshman cornerback Cooper Meador was the district’s Defensive Newcomer of the year. He tallied two interceptions and a forced fumble along with 17 solo tackles and five assists. Meador also returned four kickoffs and 21 punts for a total of 280 yards.

“Cooper did such a great job studying film and learning the game plan inside and out each week,” Coach Johnson said. “When you prepare like that, it puts you in such a great position each and every game.

The Eagles placed eight players on the All-District 1st Team including David Barajas at halfback, Cesar Garcia at wide receiver, Jaakan Jurecek at tight end, Albert Arispe, Jack Griffin and Colton Arendt on the offensive line, Garrett Hariman on the defensive line, and Elias Luna at linebacker.

Five Eagles were named to the All-District 2nd Team including Marco Martinez at running back, David Tompkins at defensive end, Jaakan Jurecek at linebacker, Jose Moya at cornerback and Cesar Garcia at punter.

Five Eagles were named to the All-District Honorable Mention Team including Kayden Rodriguez at wide receiver, Edgar Muniz at linebacker, Edmundo Garcia at safety, Francisco Villanueva on the offensive line, and Phillip Garcia at defensive tackle.

Jack Griffin and Tompkins were each named to the Academic All-District team. An grade point average of 90 or better through the first two six-weeks is required to qualify for designation to the team.

“It’s awesome to see the kids’ success this year in regards to both the season and All-District honors,” Coach Johnson said. “I think it’s very important to note also that individual awards like these come about because of the team’s success.

The Eldorado Eagles coaching staff was selected as the district’s Staff of the Year. Few can argue with their success as the five coaches turned around a team that finished 2-8 the past two seasons and turned them into a district contender that outscored it’s opponents 324-139.

The Eagles coaching staff is led by Head Coach and Athletic Director Michael Johnson who is in his second year here and his second year as a head coach. Eldorado native William Robledo is the team’s defensive coordinator while Iraan native Zane Hernandez is the defensive coordinator. Jared Romine is an assistant coach and Chris Castleman is the team’s special teams coordinator.

“This staff is definitely one of the best I have ever been a part of. They are guys who from day one have bought in to the process of loving on these kids and developing Eldorado into a great program,” Coach Johnson said of his staff. “I am very thankful to get work and do life with this group of men each and every day. I am proud of their hard work and dedication and thankfully, that was recognized by there peers this year.”

The staff led their team to a 6-4 season record and a 4-1 record in district play. The Eagles claimed a share of the District 8-2A title along with the Christoval Cougars and the Miles Bulldogs.

The Eagles lost to the Haskell Indians 26-22 in the Bi-District round of the State 2A Playoffs.