The new Schleicher County Hospital and Family Clinic are now open for business.
The 11,124-square-foot hospital and 4,765-square-foot clinic officially opened their doors at 8 a.m. on Wednesday, February 20th.

The amount of fresh water needed for hydraulic fracking of oil and gas wells may decline sharply if an Irving chemical company has its way. XCHEM is proposing a new oilfield chemical facility west of Eldorado to manufacture and distribute treatment chemicals that would allow brackish water to replace much of the fresh water now being used in the fracking process.

County Road Superintendent Mark Graves voiced concerns Monday about the theft and vandalism of stop signs on county roads. Graves told the Schleicher County Commissioners Court that an increased number of signs are being taken, costing the county $50 per sign.

The Eldorado City Council met Monday evening and found itself again dealing with a complaint of a blocked alleyway.

Local firefighters and EMS volunteers responded this week to a pair of vehicle accidents that sent two women to area hospitals.
The first involved a 2004 Chevrolet pickup that rolled and caught fire early Saturday morning on FM 1828, north and west of Eldorado.

EHS One-Act-Play actors and crew present ‘The Voice of the Prairie’
A traveling con artist with a microphone and a quick tongue convinces a shy farmer to tell stories of his youthful travels in “The Voice of the Prairie,” this year’s One-Act-Play offering from Eldorado High School.
The play invites its audience to relive the thrilling early days of radio through the touching tale of a search for lost love and a place in the world.
A dress rehearsal of “The Voice of the Prairie” is slated for Sunday, March 17th at 7pm in the EHS Auditorium.
Contest dates are Zone -March 21st in Miles and District-March 26th in Mertzon.
Cast members include: Ryan Espinosa - Leon Schwabb (con-artist); Austin Stapp - Davey, a shy farmer; Jacob Mettlen - Sheriff and watermelon man; Alex McMayon - Frankie, a blind girl; Aaron Santellano - school boy and news vendor; Whitney Perez - Susie; Amber Shipman - a passerby; Andrew Curtis - James; Rylea Self - a gossip monger; Kaitlyn Lindsey - schoolgirl; and Robin Hibbs - jailer.
Crew members include: Esme Ruezga - lighting; Stormi Rinehart - sound; Jessica Gonzalez -spotlight; Cody McCormack and Victoria Olivan.
Alternates include: Kaci Bales, T.J. Hudson and Megan Powell.
Luann Shipman directs the play with the help of assistant directors Layna Murr and Lindsey Parker.