The Eldorado High School chapter of the Texas Association of Future Educators (TAFE ) won the Outstanding Chapter Award at the Teach Tomorrow Summit held Feb. 17-19 in San Antonio by the Texas Association of Future Educators.
Robin Hibbs earned awards for being a 2013 TAFE Storybook Creation state finalist and a 2013 TAFE Keynote Speech state finalist. Hibbs’ support staff included Kaitlyn Lindsey, T.J. Hudson, Megan Powell and Kaci Bales. They assisted her as she dressed in costume and waited to perform at state.
Alexis Garcia served as the State Historian. She was on stage throughout the summit, making presentations  in front of a crowd of 1,700 of her peers from across the state. During that time, she greeted San Antonio Mayor Julian Castro, 2012 National Teacher of the Year Michelle Shearer, and Teach Like a Rock Star speaker Hal Bowman.
TAFE sponsor Mrs. Case notes that in the month of February Alexis had the opportunity to have her picture taken at the state capital with Governor Rick Perry and shake hands with San Antonio’s youngest mayor, Julian Castro.
Alexis also represented her peers at the TAFE state board or directors meeting. Afterward, board members; Jamie Kujawa, of Houston Eisenhower High School and Principal Bruce Cunningham of Smyer ISD, President of the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals, each told Mrs. Case how impressed they were with Alexis and the questions she posed at the meeting.
Other EHS students participating included Domingo Garcia who earned a ribbon for the “Learning to Read to Pre-K Students” project. Also, Hagen Porras received a ribbon for the local chapter’s Yearbook while Madison Albin kept everyone organized and on time. Meanwhile, Mrs. Susie McAlpine was in charge of transportation. Pete Case also accompanied the group.